Doyle A.: Sherlock Holmes: 24 Classic Short Stories

Doyle A.: Sherlock Holmes: 24 Classic Short Stories

Скачать книгу (размер 3 339 Kb , формат fb2, страниц 656) 

Жанр : Carlton
Издательство : Carlton
Год издания : 2013


This enthralling collection of Sherlock Holmes adventures comprises the first two volumes of short stories as they were originally gathered together in book form. Initially published in «The Strand» magazine, the first of the short stories followed the successful serialization of Conan Doyle's first two Holmes novels «A Study in Scarlet» and «The Sign of Four». «The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes» contains four of Conan Doyle's own all-time favorite Holmes mysteries, «The Adventure of the Speckled Band», «The Red-Headed League», «A Scandal in Bohemia» and «The Five Orange Pips». «The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes» has another three of Conan Doyle's favorites in «The Adventure of the Reigate Squire», «The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual» and «The Adventure of the Final Problem». It is in «The Final Problem», of course, that Dr Watson sadly reports the death of Holmes at the Reichenbach Falls near Meiringen in Switzerland. Holmes' titanic struggle with his arch enemy, Professor Moriarty, had seen them both apparently plunge over a sheer drop, although Watson never actually saw Holmes' body. This was Conan Doyle's attempt to bring an end to Holmes' adventures, but he was to be resurrected by popular demand eight years later. «The Memoirs» also includes «The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter», in which Holmes' brother, Mycroft, appears for the first time and «The Adventure of the Gloria Scott», in which Holmes describes to Watson his very first case.

Добавить комментарий

Для отправки комментария вы должны авторизоваться.